Inspiration for your Perspiration – Feeling Renewed July 14, 2013

This weeks Inspiration for your Perspiration post is courtesy of Darlena from

Run Find your Happy Pace

This past week I was blessed to volunteer at my church’s Vacation Bible School.  At our church we call it “Summer’s Best Week”.  And you know what it really is 🙂

There is nothing more renewing that seeing 400+ kids of all ages and 100’s of volunteers be sooooo excited to have fun, sing and dance for Jesus!  This was my second year as a volunteer and man I tell you what, I think I get as much out of it as the kids.

This year I was involved in the movie and missions part of the day.  There we watch a video cartoon that a relates to the theme of the week “Stand Strong with God”, learn a bible verse and do something for another less fortunate country.  This year that country was India, my compassion kids are from India so this made it even more special to me.  We didn’t collect money or food, instead we worked on sending paper bibles (in their native language) to India.  On Monday we took a picture of each child that attended SBW.  Throughout the week we learned about India and on Friday, each child got to place his/her picture in the back of the paper bible.  We asked them to each place their picture in there and say a prayer for the child who will receive that bible in India.  I got to pray with my youngest.  We prayed that the child to receive this would learn to love Jesus as much as we do.  It was awesome!

I also got to participate in a skit one day and teach the verse “Don’t worry about anything, instead, pray about everything”  Philippians 4:6.  I was “Lilly” the librarian (picture me with half glasses and a shawl, hair in a bun) and my job was to read the definition of worry, the bible verse and then to figure out a way to help the kids remember it.  Anyway we decided to have “Lily” rap the verse, along with some sweet MC Hammer dance moves.  As you can imagine, it was quite entertaining.  And yes I will embarrass myself for God.  But we are also fortunate at our church to have a wonderful man that is also an extremely talented rapper.  In fact every so often he opens service with a rap of praise, he rocks.  So after Lilly attempts to do some library rapping along with Miss Debby (that’s her in the cheetah outfit), the big guy steps in and saves the day.  The kids loved it!   Here is our picture “post rap.”

61647_605193589514810_518359117_n

The week also opened up an opportunity for my daughter and I to have some conversations about worry, anger and finding some common ground, and for this I am most thankful!  I love that girl

So with a renewed spirit I am headed out to conquer the rest of this summer and the back-end of this deployment!  Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

